I Dream Of Jean Socks: The Beginning, Part 1

Backstory…and some socks

I have a thing for socks.

Funky socks, tall socks, cozy socks…I love socks. From my love of socks stemmed the idea for the first post for this blog. Actually, let me back up a little and tell you about the idea behind this blog. We’ll get back to my socks in a minute.

I’m a self-employed single mom working on a tight budget (as us single moms do), and as of late have been finding it a little tougher to make ends meet (gas and milk prices suck!). So I started thinking about ways to squeeze more out of my budget. My largest monthly expense by far is rent. At first I didn’t think moving into something less expensive would be an option (my employment is based on where I live), but after more consideration, some hemming and hawing, soul searching, and other circumstances (I’ll break down the deets on that another time), I’ve decided that I will make the move. BUT this will be no ordinary move. I’ve decided to move into a tiny house!

Not THAT tiny

Not THAT tiny!

Now if you’re unfamiliar with the tiny house movement, I encourage you to do a quick Google search and see what you see. In short, it’s a very affordable way to own your own home,  live a sustainable lifestyle, and maybe even travel! Really, you should Google it.

So, where the heck do socks come into this thing? Patience,  I’m getting there.

In order to seriously make this move and live this happy,  tiny, sustainable little life, I have to get rid of some things. Ok, a lot of things. The premise of a tiny house life is to be mostly “thing-less”. I LOVE this idea. Living a simple, mostly thing-less life is sooo for me. But it’s going to take some work. Ok, a lot of work. While I don’t have a whole lot of things, (I live in a three story townhouse with storage space that could rival that of a jail cell) I have way too much to cram into my future tiny house life. So I came up with a plan.

Unfortunately, as this post is already longer than I’d originally planned, I’ll have to share that plan with you in the next post.

Oh, but I did promise you some socks…

Tie-dy pair of toe warmers, they are

Tie-dy pair of toe warmers, they are

No, these aren’t “the” socks, but I figured they’d TIE-D you over until we get to them. 🙂

Until next time,

Maila

Leave a Reply

